Toyota Mirai hydrogen fuel cell is on sale; you can’t have one*

Toyota Mirai car-to-car rt front cornerToyota Mirai car-to-car rt front corner

*Unless you live in California

Are you ready for the future? Do you live in California? Then keep reading, because the future — the Toyota Mirai — is coming to you. If you live in California. And if your application is accepted.

Toyota launched an application page for its hydrogen fuel cell car, which will be available through a total of eight dealerships in California.

The Mirai is the culmination of 20 years worth of research into hydrogen fuel cell vehicles, and underneath the dramatic bodywork (and the Lexus ct200h/Toyota Prius platform) is a powertrain that takes compressed hydrogen and pushes it through membranes that separate the electrons from the hydrogen, using them to power an electric motor that drives the front wheels like in a regular electric car. The electric powertrain produces 151 hp at the electric motor, and is good for a zero to sixty sprint time of approximately 9 seconds.

The price of being propelled by hydrogen into the future? $58,325 to buy the future outright, or lease it for $499 a month for 36 months with $3,649 due at signing. If you opt to buy the Mirai outright, there are federal and state incentives to be had, which can reduce the price by as much as $13,000.

The purchase price includes three years’ or $15,000 worth of free hydrogen fuel for the car (which you will need), a week’s worth of rental car access for the first three years (which you may not need) a hydrogen fuel station finder app, 24/7 customer support, and an eight-year 100,000 mile hydrogen powertrain warranty.

How far will the future take you? The Mirai has an EPA-estimated range of 312 miles while returning a combined 67 mpge. The good news is that filling up takes just five minutes… once you reach a hydrogen fuel station.

Are you ready for the future? Take the test here and hurry, as Toyota will offer just 3,000 units over the next three years with plans to expand to four northeastern states including Connecticut, New York, New Jersey and Rhode Island.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.