Toyota Just Did Something No Foreign Automaker Ever Has

In its 10th season of NASCAR competition, Toyota has claimed its first manufacturers’ championship.

With Kyle Busch’s sixth-place finish at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Sunday, Toyota won its first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Manufacturers’ Championship, snapping Chevrolet’s run of 13 consecutive titles. The automaker also won the Xfinity and Truck Series Manufacturers’ Championships. The company scored 1,477 points this season, with Chevrolet coming in second with 1,452 points. Ford came in third with 1,388.

Over the course of the 36-race season, five Camry drivers collected 16 Cup wins, including a dozen by Joe Gibbs Racing and four by Furniture Row Racing. Busch and Martin Truex Jr. had four wins a piece, while Carl Edwards notched three victories. Both Denny Hamlin and Matt Kenseth finished the second with two wins a piece.

Toyota’s first season in the NASCAR Cup Series was 2007 and it has since won 95 races and 90 poles.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.